Declutter Challenge Results: Week One

It’s been a week since I challenged myself to get rid of 200 items in my house. How’s that challenge working out? Hmmm. Well, I have a box full of stuff I’m taking to the thrift store. The contents of this box were cleared off of a pool table in the cellar. I don’t think I’ve seen that pool table for a year. Here’s a picture of the box which must leave the house…within the week.

img_2055

I haven’t really made too many rules in this challenge- but I think it may be necessary. Especially considering the large amount of stuff crowding in on us here!

The contents of this week’s box:

  • set of sheets
  • rc helicopter
  • Swiffer WetJet cleaning pads
  • sink faucet
  • Christmas tree garland
  • package of baby bottle nipples
  • tote bag
  • 2 nonstick skillets
  • plastic Coca-Cola cup
  • board game
  • 2 empty spray bottles
  • 3 small hand lotions
  • bottle of baby gas drops
  • 3 bottles of shampoo
  • 2 bottles of lotion
  • roll of contact paper
  • 2 bottles of body wash
  • bar of soap
  • dish drying rack and drain board
  • 14 VHS tapes
  • 4 books
  • 1 dvd

If I counted correctly, that’s 46 items!!! That certainly exceeded my expectations for the first week. This is a bittersweet victory because this hardly made a dent into the piles of…piles. Yeah, I definitely need to make up some rules for this challenge and definitely change the number of items to get rid of. I’ll post that next Thursday.

I’m excited to be able to use the pool table again! Have you challenged yourself to declutter? Are you thinking that you’re a borderline hoarder? Have you shocked friends and family with your abilities to collect stuff?

Have a great evening!

SAJ

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Declutter Challenge Results: Week One

Leave a Reply

