What should I have for dinner?

I thought I’d share a new recipe I tried. I have actually been trying many new recipes in the last two weeks. I just haven’t been taking pictures…

This is a Whole30 recipe. Before you start freaking out about not giving up your sugar and dairy and gluten- hear me out. I’ve never been on a diet before but I felt this was necessary. I love my sugar. I love it in ice cream, cookies, ice cream, cake, ice cream, pies, ice cream cake, and so on. I love sugar. And over the years it has occurred to me that I eat a heck of a lot more sugar than other people do. So I am kicking the habit. That’s it. That’s the biggest reason I am doing this.

So I knew I’d have trouble with this diet for many reasons I can visit on at a later date. Because of this, I wanted something that just walked me along so that I focused more on the next step rather than the sugar I was missing.

Enter this website. Excellent. It plans every meal out for you. Even gives you the grocery list. A slightly intimidating list- but I did it. Even with an unhappy toddler in tow. No small feat.

We have had some excellent meals this way. Really. I will make them again after this 30 days is finished.

Here’s what we had last night(you know-when I finally remembered to take pictures). Oh, and this one is in the slow-cooker- nice in the hot weather.

Creamy Lemon Artichoke Chicken (linked to recipe!)

So you take some canned artichokes, quarter them and put them in the bottom of your slow-cooker. If you’re a real foodie, you may gasp at the whole “canned artichokes” bit. I was like,”Where do you find artichokes?” Obviously not a foodie. But I do like to eat- does that count???

IMG_2495.JPG

Next I sliced up some lemons and some carrots. The carrots were actually just for me to eat immediately. They have nothing to do with this recipe. IMG_2498

Ignore the carrots!IMG_2499

Then I took the skin and fat off of chicken thighs, sprinkled them with salt and pepper and finally lightly browned them on both sides in a skillet. IMG_2493.JPG

I did this all in a backward way from what the recipe said. If I did it the right way- it would have gone more quickly. But I was trying to save myself from cleaning extra dishes. Oh, the shame.

So when the chicken was browned a bit, I laid it over the artichokes. BTW- I put in 2 extra thighs because I’m a rebel. And because it was packaged that way.

Then I mixed up some chicken broth, arrowroot starch, and coconut milk. I poured it over the chicken and laid lemons on top. (Actually, I put the lemons on first, then glanced at the directions and took them back off to pour the broth mixture on. Then I threw those babies back on. Doesn’t matter except for the pictures people!)IMG_2501IMG_2502.JPG

Cook it on high 4-6 hours. Remove lemons- I don’t care where. Just don’t put them back in your Crock-Pot! They’re super soft at this point anyway. Ugh. Take the thighs out and shred them with 2 forks. This is super easy. Mix up a little more of that starch and some water and stir that into the liquid in the cooker. Then add your chicken back in and mix it all up.

IMG_2504.JPG

So I had some more carrots…

This is what it looks like when you’ve finished and decided it’s kind of a stew. And that you have to have some other veggie with it, because…BECAUSE. (I have this fear that on a diet you have to starve, and I let this fear drive me to make extra food. Sad really.)

This does not look like the photo that came with the recipe. She obviously did not shred the chicken before her photo!

What did I think of it?

Pretty easy to make. My husband loved it. Do you like honey lemon cough drops? The flavor of this kind of reminded me of them. It was okay, but I kept thinking of those cough drops which I don’t care for. My husband loves that flavor. So it was a hit with him. Our daughter liked it too. There you go. Try it.:)

Stay tuned…I have more coming. Especially from that website(ourpaleolife)– check it out. She’s got some great recipes.

SAJ

 

Leave a Reply

